One of the major steps in determining the “level” of a filidh has to do with the number of stories they have memorized. A first year student would know up to 20, a second year student would know up to 50, and a third year student would know up to 90.

They probably need to know them cold (“off book”)

On the one hand, I’m not working on this for fifty hours a week. But on the other hand, I’m not restricting myself to Irish stories and I can break long stories up into episodes.

This is a list of stories that I could tell “cold.” While these stories are in “no particular order” I’m going to put the “average dad knows these stories” ones first so you can see where someone else coming to this might start from.

  1. The three little pigs
  2. Rapunzel
  3. Little red riding hood
  4. Snow white
  5. Sleeping Beauty
  6. Billy Goats Gruff
  7. Naming of Cuchullain
  8. Pains of Macha
  9. Salmon of Wisdom
  10. Bruno et al and the rock of invisibility
  11. Bruno et al and the missing pig
  12. Bruno et al and the pregnant Caladrino
  13. Death of Loegaire
  14. Why Conchobar Mac Nessa is named after his mother
  15. Death of Ferdiad

This is a list of stories that I could tell with a little warmup (mostly name issues)

  1. St Ciaran and his cow
  2. The raid on the monastery with the mouse and the disease
  3. Those cow herders becoming the bulls
  4. Cuchulain’s taking of arms.
  5. Cuchulain’s boyhood deeds
  6. Mac Datho’s Pig (lotta names in there)
  7. When Fergus lost his sword
  8. Fionn and the Giant
  9. Fionn and Goll mac Murna

This is a list of stories that I know about that I could move into the other categories.

 

